School Improvement Team

  • School Improvement Team Meeting Dates

    Meetings are held in the Media Center from 3:10 – 4:10

    September 5th and 19th

    October 3rd and 17th

    November 7th and 14th

    December 5th and 12th

    January 9th and 16th

    February 6th and 20th

    March 6th and 20th

    April 3rd and 10th

    May 1st  and 15th 


    To view our Northwest Elementary School Improvement Plan, click on the link below.
    Once you have been directed to you will click on the blue User Login button on the top right hand corner.
    In the first login box, type: GuestS16647
    In the second password box, type: GuestS16647
    This will allow you to navigate the Indistar website and view our Northwest School Improvement Plan.


  • What is the School Improvement Team?

    School Improvement Teams are required by North Carolina law to develop school improvement plans. The team is comprised of the principal of each school, representatives of the assistant principals, instructional personnel, instructional support personnel, and teacher assistants assigned to the school building, and parents of children enrolled in the school. The representatives are elected by their respective groups (such as the PTA/PTO for parents).

    The General Assembly of North Carolina views parental involvement as a critical component of school success and positive student achievement. It is the intent of NC that parents, along with teachers, have a substantial role in developing school improvement plans.

    When does the School Improvement Team meet and can I attend the meeting?

    School Improvement Teams are considered a public body and are subject to open meeting laws. Staff, parents and community members are always welcome to attend and observe the meetings.

    How do I communicate a suggestion for school improvement to the group?

    You may communicate directly with an individual on the team or send a request to the entire committee.

  • 2018-2019 Northwest School’s School Improvement Team

    Administrator- Heather Walston

    SIT Chairperson- Heather Clark

    Kindergarten- Lisa Jernigan

    1st Grade- Jessica Perry

    2nd Grade/ TOY- Trekeita Bowser

    3rd Grade/ AIG- Alicia Stanley

    4th Grade-Melinda Harrell

    5th Grade-Shalona Newkirk

    TA/ Bus Driver Representative- Stephanie Moore

    PBIS/ 504/ Guidance Counselor- Anne Ormond

    EC Representative- Denise Herring

    DLS/ Process Manager/ Curriculum Co-Chair- Rachel Whitfield

    Media Specialist/ Curriculum Co-Chair- Janis Skoczylas

    Communications/ Backup Process Manager- Lena Carroll

    Climate- Rachel Hill